The organisation

Organization and structure

We have the Association of Radio Maria Malawi as the Governing Body. It was established in 1999. It consists of a maximum of 20 members who elect an Executive Board to run its affairs for a period of three years. The current Executive Board was elected into office on 15th October, 2015. It consists of the President, Vice- President, Treasurer, Secretary, the Director of Radio Maria and two other members. There is currently a proposed constitutional amendment to include a position of Legal Advisor. The Board meets once every quarter and the Association holds its Annual General Meeting once every year. The Board also established an Executive Committee (EXCOM) which consists of the President, Directors and the National Coordinator. The EXCOM meets once every week to discuss all matters relating to the operations of the radio.

The Directors are responsible for programmes which include programming, studios, transmission and volunteers.

The National Coordinator is responsible for corporate services such as promotions, fundraising, accounts, human resources, procurement and transport.

We have the main studios in Mangochi with sub-studios in Limbe, Zomba, Dedza, Mzuzu andLilongwe. The sub-studios are managed by volunteer Studio Coordinators who supervise full-time Studio Clerks, volunteers and security personnel. Plans are also underway to establish similar facilities in Mzuzu and Karonga.


Current office-bearers and senior managers

Executive Board

President:  Mr. Nicholas Chonde;

Vice-President: Mr. Charles Malunga;

Treasurer: Mr. Cosmas Chimbiya;

Secretary: Mrs. Christina Kumwenda;

Members: Mrs.  Jane Katola;

                 Mr  Clement Ntengula

                 Rev. Fr. Dr. Joseph Kimu; and

                 Rev. Fr. Emmanuel Malipa.


Management of Radio Maria Malawi

Director of Programmes: Rev. Fr. Dr. Joseph Kimu;

Assistant Director of Programmes: Rev. Fr. Emmanuel Malipa;

National Coordinator: Mr. Louis Phiri;    

Mr Emmanuel Kaliati: Head of Programe  

Head of Transmission: Mr. Emmanuel Namangwiyo;

Accountant: Mr. Innocesia Phiri

Head of Studios: Mr. Alinafe Kunsamala; and

Head of News: Martha Mwandira.

Head  of Promotion  : Richard Doctor


On Air Studio Phone Numbers

Mobile App

Android devices
Apple devices
Windows Phone devices